Stories on Inspiration, Love and Life Lessons

Show God True Thanksgiving

All Good Things Come From God Be Thankful Always!

Mrs Diane Mary Markey

--

I will praise you as long as I live.
Image supplied by dreamstime.com

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, Ephesians 5:20

Here is an inspirational article on the love of God the Father.

If ever there was a man in history that had the right to feel sorry for himself. To believe all was woe and hardship. That there was nothing. Absolutely nothing in life to be thankful to God the Father for. It was Paul. Paul Christ’s chosen apostle.

Paul who because of His fellowship. His deep and dedicated love for His Lord. Because Saul, then known as Paul fulfilled his calling. To preach the kingdom of God to the Gentiles. Suffered much. Paul endured, “beatings, shipwrecks and arrests for simply preaching the gospel.” (gotquestions.org) For thirty-five years Paul preached the gospel of God. Many times he was imprisoned for his ministry. His dedication. His love for his Lord, Christ Jesus.

In and through all Paul’s hardships. He recognized his own weaknesses. He was comforted by knowing that it was all for the benefit of his Lord.“For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:10) Paul endured his hard times. Knowing God’s Spirit would supply him with the strength and courage needed to persevere. Paul was filled with God’s Holy Spirit. He took courage, strength and confidence in this awareness. This love from Heaven.

Even whilst shackled by heavy metal chains that scraped and chafed his wrists and ankles. Even whilst cramped in a dungeon cell with no access to nature or sunlight. Even in the agony of near starvation. Even in the midst of absolute isolation and lack of human companionship.

Paul’s heart was filled with pure love for Jesus his Lord. Paul’s soul sings with sincere and utter gratitude to God his loving Father. Whilst shackled with metal chains. His heart. His soul was free. Free to write, “addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart,” (Ephesians 5:19–20) Paul’s epistle is not words of self-pity and heartache. Sings Paul’s music of his love for God the Father. His thanksgiving to Christ Jesus shines through these verses. His prayer of gratitude “for everything” (Ephesians 5:20) is a shining example.

I cannot. Not for a second imagine what a Roman gaol cell was like in those ancient times. For we know how the Romans feared and hated those who loved and followed our Lord, Christ Jesus.

Would I have the faith? The courage? The love? The trust in Jesus my Lord to give thanks in everything in such a situation as this? Oh! I pray to God my heavenly Father, in the Name of Christ Jesus. Yes, Oh Yes!

Jesus gave His very life for me. He deserves my thanksgiving. Every moment of every day. God the Father sacrificed His only Son for my salvation. He deserves my thanksgiving. Every moment of every day. God blessed me with His gift, Christ’s replacement. His, Holy Spirit. God’s Spirit deserves my thanksgiving. Every moment of every day.

I do, as do you. Have times when I hit rock bottom. When all feels lost. When human comfort, if there is any. Seems to be empty words. Then a small wonder. A huge miracle. God’s Spirit utters a reminder to my suffering, broken heart. Reminding me to turn to God my Father in prayer. He is waiting. Patiently and lovingly waiting.

God speaks to me through His Word, “And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) I recall that ALL includes my hardships and woes.

I grab my Holy Bible. Find my comfy and quiet place. Seek the presence of my loving Father in prayer. I always start each and every prayer with a small list of things to be thankful for. Of course, this list every time includes the gift of salvation. Brought by the precious blood of Christ Jesus.

Now, this simple change of attitude. From helplessness, and self-pity to thanksgiving. Is a lesson for me. A step in my becoming more like Jesus. I ask God and His Holy Spirit for the help needed. I sincerely put my dilemma in His capable and loving hands.

I turn to the Scriptures, guided by God’s Spirit. “For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.” (Romans 8:14) Finding the verses I need. Yes, I believe in my heart I will. I do sing prayers of thanksgiving to God the Father in all life’s circumstances. Hard times and happy. I remember I have God’s Spirit within as my comforter, helper and strength. I lean on God the Holy Spirit and I am thankful to Him also.

I close each day with a reading of God’s Word. Again with the guidance of the Spirit. “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.” (Mark 11:24) A time of solitude in God’s Holy presence in prayer. Listing my blessings gained through the day with thanksgiving. Yes, singing His praises. I sing, in silence, sweet music to my Lord giving thanks to Him for all His love.

Image supplied by dreamstime.com

Have you ever lovingly thought of Paul, the Apostle in his Roman gaol cell? Chained in metal shackles that scrape and chafe his wrists and ankles. In a damp, smelly and dark dungeon with no light or fresh air. No human companionship to help with the long and lonely hours. For oh, so many days, weeks and perhaps months in gaol. “My lips praise You because Your faithful love is better than life itself!” (Psalm 63:3)

All for the love of God his Father. For believing in Christ Jesus his Lord and Saviour. Paul sings and makes music, sweet music to his Lord. Paul’s prayers are words of love and thanksgiving.

Ponder it! Paul loves God this much. He sees past the bars. He sees past the hate of the Roman guards. He sees past the endless days of isolation. All he sees. All he feels is the love for God his Father. “I thank Him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our Lord because He judged me faithful, appointing me to His service,” (1 Timothy 1:12) All he feels. All he needs is the companionship of his Lord, Christ Jesus.

You and I must not. Do not permit our hard times to come between you and your loving Father. You are blessed by God. With the most precious gift, He can bestow. “May the Lord direct your hearts to the love of God and to the steadfastness of Christ.” (2 Thessalonians 3:5) The gift of His only Son, Jesus Christ and His Holy Spirit.

For this blessing.“Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him, rooted and built up in Him and established in the faith, just as you were taught,” abounding in thanksgiving. (Colossians 2:6–7) Thanksgiving-the giving of thanks to God the Father. In prayer, in the name of Christ Jesus, His Son. Is to be a way of life for you. For me. For every follower of our Lord, Christ Jesus.

I want you to be thankful for another gift. Another blessing from God your Father. When you live a life of gratitude. A day-to-day spirit of thanksgiving. Your life is one of joy and contentment.

When your life is spent glorifying God. When everything you do, is done as an act of glory to God.“So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (1 Corinthians 10:31) Joy will fill your heart. Love for God your heavenly Father simply overflows. The people around you will see your love shine through your words, actions and deeds.

Your love and your joy may be the path for another person to Jesus. Maybe her redeeming path to salvation. You never know. “with God all things are possible.” (Mark 10:27b)

God loves you and He always will!

Please be sure to give this story some claps and follow me if you found it interesting and uplifting. And want to read more!

Thank you!

--

--

Mrs Diane Mary Markey

Published inspirational books on my love for God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. The articles on Medium also are Christian stories. Retired Counselor.