Artist Capturing Australia’s Beauty in Oils — Diane Markey

Mrs Diane Mary Markey
3 min readFeb 17, 2022

--

Seascape Oil Painting of Golden Beach (100 x 80 cms)

William Dobell stated:

”A sincere artist is not one who makes a faithful attempt to put onto canvas what is in infront of him, but one who tries to create something which is, in itself, a living thing.”

This is a philosophy I live by in my creations. My dream is to be as famous as William Dobell one day!!!

Capturing Australia’s Nature in Original Oil Paintings

  • Readers may be a little curious of who I am as an Australian artist.
  • What inspires me to paint Seascapes with the occasional Landscape for diversity.
  • What particular styles of painting I favour and am working to perfect.

If as a reader you would indeed like to know me just a little —

Australia to me is a nation of breath-taking beauty!!! I have travelled quite extensively and taken Oh! so many photos. Throughout my working life I often dreamt of being able to capture on canvas Australia’s unique character. Upon retirement I was determined to fulfill that dream.

Of course the realization struck me that this was going to be “easier said than done.” I have visited galleries on my travels and I knew instincively what styles I am drawn to. I always wanted to paint seascapes in oils and that is what I mainly do. I favour realism, which captures a particular scene, and transfers that scene “realistically” on to canvas. I also enjoy the power that is gained from impressionism and attempt to integrate this style in to my paintings to create depth and a sense of diversity.

Readers are welcome to hop over to my website: https://dianemmarkey.blog — browse my paintings and then ask me questions and offer suggestions. Readers are welcome to Subscribe to my site’s Blog. I would also welcome the opportunity to share any knowledge I have gained along my way that is improving my technique. Suggestions offered by readers would be acknowledged and added to my tool kit. We can learn from each other and form a community of like-minded people who love original oil paintings that tell Australia’s unique story on canvas.

Mine is a life time journey that needs guidance allowing me to perfect my creations for Australian art collectors.

Readers please do leave your Suggestions and Questions. Any help sincerely accepted.

It goes without saying that this blog/story is not all about me. I have learnt so much in the past few years and it would be a joy to share this wisdom with my Readers. Any questions you may have about my artwork, my particular style and any other subject that I may be able to assist you with would be dealt with promptly and to the best of my ability.

I also thrive on the challenge of keeping my website on rows one and two on page one of Google for “paintings that capture australia’s beauty”. This website is my primary marketing tool for my Original Oil Paintings. Again, I would welcome the opportunity to share the knowledge that I have gained from designing and running this website with my Readers.

Seascape Oil Painting of Tacking Point Beach (80 x 75 cms)

--

--

Mrs Diane Mary Markey

Published inspirational books on my love for God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ. The articles on Medium also are Christian stories. Retired Counselor.